Annual Tournament 2005

     The clubs Annual Tournament took place this year on Wednesday 16th February. The fifteen bout programme took place in the Temperance Hall before a capacity crowd. Loughrea boxers faced opposition from the following clubs, West Clare, Oughterard, Connemara, Galway, Tuam, Monivea and new clubs Tobair Pheadair and Ballinasloe. The local club had a good night winning eleven out of fifteen. The best contest of the night was between Pat Mongan, Loughrea and Eoin Ward from Galway B.C. Ward was ahead until the final bell when Mongan landed to level the score. Mongan won the countback by two and won the best local boxer of the night. The clubman of the year award went to Martin Lawrence. The Arthur McGhee trophy was presented by Frank Lynch on behalf of the McGhee family. The results were as follows:

1 Robert Kerins (Loughrea) bt Martin Ward (Ballinasloe)
2 Conall Whelan (Loughrea) bt Sean O Connor (West Clare)
3 Matthew Connelly (Loughrea) bt Joe Shaughnessy (O/ard)
4 Cathal Hogan (West Clare) bt David Ward (Loughrea)
5 Tommy O Brien (Monivea) bt Paul Ward (Loughrea)
6 Patrick Hoban (Loughrea) bt David Wallace (Loughrea)
7 Sean O Flaherta (Connemara) bt Eddie Ward (Loughrea)
8 John Stokes (Loughrea) bt Kieran Griffen (Connemara)
9 Jake McNally (Loughrea) bt Sean McCormack (West Clare)
10 Patrick Mongan (Loughrea) bt James Fahy (Tobar Pheadair)
11 William Lawrence (Loughrea) bt Michael McDonagh (Monivea)
12 John Ward (Loughrea) bt Anthony Griffen (Connemara)
13 Michael Ward (Loughrea) bt Laurence Ward (Tuam)
14 Pat Mongan (Loughrea) bt Eoin Ward (Galway BC)
15 Barry McCusker (West Clare) bt John Ward (Loughrea)

See some photos of the night